A Guide to US, UK and EU Sanctions and Export Controls on Russia and Belarus

20 March 2024
View the Guide
Key Takeaways:
  • Since Russia’s February 24, 2022 invasion of Ukraine, the United States, the United Kingdom and the European Union, along with other countries, have imposed extensive sanctions on Russia, the Russian occupied regions of Ukraine, and Belarus, as well as export controls. With no clear end in sight to the conflict, measures imposed by the US, the UK and the EU continue to expand gradually with the purpose of eroding the Russian economy’s ability to support the war.
  • This Guide provides an overview of the myriad sanctions and export controls adopted by these jurisdictions, the general licenses issued in connection with these measures and additional guidance published as of 9:00 a.m. EST March 20, 2024.